Peregrine Espresso, courtesy of Damon Green (Flickr)

Peregrine Espresso, courtesy of Damon Green (Flickr)

Alright, this is a bit outside of my regular coverage of the U street, Columbia Heights, and Logan Circle ‘hoods, but I spend a good amount of time in the Eastern Market/Capitol Hill area too. I have a good friend who lives there, I love the market at Eastern Market, and I tutor at an organization nearby once a week. When Murky Coffee closed last year because of back taxes, I was sad, that was a good cup of coffee.

I was happy to hear from a fellow tutor that one of her friends, a barista at Murky, planned to open a new coffee shop in the space. Hence, Peregrine Espresso. Folks, have you been here? The coffee’s better than Murky, and with no attitude. Yes, they even serve iced coffee, though I wouldn’t recommend it, and actually have to agree with the asshole owner of Murky that you really are ruining the flavor, and it is a shame with coffee this good. Did you think coffee always had that bitter, almost acrid taste? Well, my friend it doesn’t have to, and it doesn’t at Peregrine Espresso.

You know when a place describes a coffee as fruity, chocolatey, or earthy and you try your best to taste it but you really can’t? At Peregrine Espresso I can, and it’s fabulous. Check it out the next time you’re trolling around Eastern Market, a cup of coffee starts at just $2. Plus, they have a blog, and who doesn’t love that?

Can we get them to open a location on U street, please?

A regular feature in which I spotlight local businesses.