Not that my lovely readers aren’t on the up and up while I’m on vacation, but here’s some big news items that happened around the ‘hood while I was away:

  • The biggest news is, of course, that Taylor Gourmet is coming to 14th and T. I love Taylor’s sandwiches, I often travel out of my way to eat them, and this is great news. The biggest bummer is the business they are replacing, U Street Girl favorite Ruff and Ready. Ruff and Ready has moved locations before, so here’s hoping they find a new home, hopefully in the area. Taylor says they aim to open this fall, but if you’ve been in that space – you know it’s going to take a lot of work – so I wouldn’t bank on it.
  • A new bar will also be opening at the corner of 12th and U, above the Islander (phew, for a second I though the Islander was closing). Named Happy Hour (really? let’s try to fix that name), it will serve light food and have games like Skiball as well as Wii. Sounds like a good concept, but I hope they change the name.