Pulled pork at Standard

Saturday afternoon, hiding from the second hail storm of the day – I ducked into Standard (14/S) for some barbecue. Dining companion and I split a pulled pork sandwich, some fries, and got Cokes (they have ones with real sugar you know). As we were sitting inside, it was a bit cramped. Everyone outside had to move indoors (save a few brave souls) once the hail started falling.

The pulled pork sandwich was good, had a nice tang to it, but I have to say – I’ve never met a pulled pork sandwich I didn’t like. The buns were not toasted, making them soggy rather quickly – as well as making the sandwich difficult to eat. But this kind of food is supposed to be messy, no? The fries were good, clearly hand cut and nicely crispy. The Cokes though, were nearly $3 for 12 ounces. I get real sugar Cokes are going to be more expensive, but you can get the same Cokes at Pica Taco a few blocks away and they are not $3.

Overall impressions of Standard were pretty good – I didn’t get to enjoy the outdoor dining, but the food is solid. The biggest problem now is the difficulties of getting a seat outside on a nice day – you must go early.

Have you been? What did you think?