Terrific Inn

Taking a stroll over the weekend, as the weather was beautiful, I walked down a block I hadn’t in a while: the 1200 block of T street. I feel like I’d noticed this building before, but couldn’t remember what it was: Terrific Inn/Inc – which appeared to me to be an inn. There were also somewhat creepy descriptors on the sign: care, touch, smile. I just couldn’t help but picture this wacky inn that drew in tourists that didn’t know any better.

So, I took to the internet: TERRIFIC actually stands for Temporary Emergency Residential Resource Institute for Families in Crisis – and is a nonprofit organization that provides housing, care, and social services to families in crisis. The organization has been around since 1987, when they opened Grandma’s House as a home for abandoned, abused, neglected, prenatally-drug exposed and HIV-infected children. The building on T street is actually a 14 unit, subsidized housing complex for elderly and disabled persons.

So, if you’ve ever walked by Terrific Inc. and wondered what exactly they did: now you know. And if you’re looking for a place to volunteer, you can be a big brother or sister or help by assisting direct care providers, providing professional and clerical services, or fundraising.