Vinoteca's back patio

This weekend friends and I checked out Vinoteca’s back patio (11th and U), which opened earlier this summer. The back patio boasts a bocce court and a more old European vibe than the modern, stark decor inside.

We took advantage of Vinoteca’s 5-7 pm happy hour that’s good all week long. They also have some food specials for the patio: sliders, fingerling potatoes, ricotta flatbread, and some sandwiches. The food, like inside the restaurant, I found to be hit or miss. We really enjoyed our lamb sliders but our friends found the bison sandwich unremarkable.

The vibe on a Saturday afternoon was pretty relaxed, but I wasn’t a fan of the kind of Euro-club music playing – it didn’t really match the decor or atmosphere I see with a bocce court. Otherwise, it was a nice place to hang out when the weather is great, and I can imagine returning now that it’s getting cooler.