The wonderful ribeye bahn mi

A friend texted me Friday morning, suggesting a foodie adventure. My response? Dickson Wine. I’ve heard such wonderful things about the food, I just had to go. We showed up at 7, only to find a bouncer/host letting us know that they weren’t even letting anyone in, but they’d take our number and it’d be 45 minutes. Promptly at 7:45, we were seated on the second floor on the bar/ledge. A downside: this bar must have only been 6 or 8 inches long, I was worried a plate would tilt and spill all over me… oh and there was the fact that the second floor bar space looked down on the first floor. A lady with a skirt or dress could easily expose herself more than she wanted to. But, the scene is very cool, a wall decorated with empty wine bottles, 3 floors of tables – all communal.

But let’s get to the food. We ordered the tuna crudo, duck prosciutto, bayley hazen blue cheese, the ribeye bahn mi, and the goat cheese and leek flatbread. I was a particular fan of the ribeye bahn mi (ah-mazing) and the goat cheese and leek flatbread. The charcuterie came with bread as well as mustard and apricot jam. The tuna crudo was good, though not great, but there was tons of it. The cheese and charcuterie selection was nicely edited, though I found out I’m not a fan of duck prosciutto, as nice as it sounds. Just too fatty for me.

Beautiful wall of wine bottles

Now, onto the drinks. None of us were in the mood for wine – but we had some cocktails. The French 75, a classic, was good. The Cherry Pop (as recommended by We Love DC) was a bit strong but very nice – refreshing. I ordered the ginger ale because I’ve been trying to cut back on drinks – they had a really good Fever Tree ginger ale that was nicely spicy.

We had the creme brulee trio for dessert, a nice small ending to a good meal. The most impressive thing, really, was the bill. While we didn’t order a bottle of wine, 3 of us ate for under $100. I was really expecting it to be at least $20 or $30 more than what it was. And the service? friendly, personable, speedy.

So, first impressions? Pretty freaking good. I’ll definitely be back, but probably on a week day. And hopefully sitting at a table.