Pica tacos - barbacoa to the left, pastor to the right

Last night I went in to try out Pica Taco, which opened on Sunday. With their 2 for 1 taco special their opening week, and tacos at $2.25 each, how could I not? I got 2 barbacoa (beef) and 2 pastor (pork) tacos. Now, I will couch my opinions with, no I’m not from the West coast (sorry I’ve never been to California, unfortunately), so I can’t speak for the authenticity of the tacos. But I can speak to their deliciousness. They were both very good but I preferred the pastor: tangy, spicy, and just really savory. For some reason the pastor came with sour cream when the barbacoa did not. The barbacoa was good but I liked the pastor more. I also wasn’t sure why each taco came with two tortillas, perhaps it was to eat any meat that had fallen out of the first one? Because that’s what I did and it worked fine.

Some other notes: if you buy 4 tacos you do not get 2 free. You just get one, which is a fair considering how cheap they are to begin with. I had 3 of my 4 tacos and could have easily eaten one or two more, so don’t expect to be full on a taco. Also, they’re not accepting credit cards now but hope to by the end of the week. The line was a bit long and slow around 7 on a Monday, but given that they just opened I expected it.

Have you guys been? What do you think?