You know, this is enough. MPD is reporting a child was shot and fatally wounded at 1400 Columbia Road last night. I certainly heard all of the helicopters starting around 10 pm. I knew something bad had happened. This is horrible.

Jim Graham has more information:

“Just before 10 PM, a nine year old boy was shot dead in the presumed safety of his apartment at 1433 Columbia Road. At this time, it appears that there was some kind of fight in the hallway, shots were fired, one of which entered the apartment and killed this boy. I have the name of the boy (who happens to be Latino) but I am not releasing it since I do not know whether the entire family has been notified.

Chief Lanier and Mayor Fenty–who were both on the scene– stated that there are persons in custody.”

I guess that’s good at least? Before I even saw this I could figure it was crossfire that this kid was caught in. I am so disgusted.

UPDATE: Three persons of interest were questioned in relation to the murder, but MPD has announced no arrest, says WaPo.

UDPATE 2: The child has been identified as Oscar Fuentes. His family said that the locks on the apartment building’s front door had been broken for months. The family also believes MS 13 might have been involved in the shooting.