Daniel Lobo

Garden District, courtesy of Daniel Lobo (Flickr)

14thandYou is reporting that Garden District has filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy. This is such a sad development, though it does make sense (they closed their indoor store and consolidated to one location recently). They will be open through at least Christmas, though their fate is not quite clear after that.

I am Garden District shopper. I’ve read complaints on various blogs, but for the apartment dweller with a balcony on which to garden, they’ve been perfect. First, it’s an easy walk, and the accessibility is key for someone who doesn’t have a car. I always buy my herbs there each summer, and am looking forward to purchasing my first DC Christmas tree there in December. It’s perfect for the urban dweller that doesn’t want to drive out to Home Depot or whatever and has basic needs. I really hope they’re able to stay open, it would be a big blow to the area if they close.