Eatonville, courtesy of Zagat Buzz (Flickr)

Eatonville, courtesy of Zagat Buzz (Flickr)

There was very few things not to like about Eatonville after I visited it back over the summer. And now, here’s another reason to visit the restaurant: they’re hosting a monthly series called “Food and Folklore,” featuring storytelling, to honor the inspiration of the restaurant, Zora Neale Hurston. They’ll also be serving their Eatonville-inspired food.

The first event will be this Friday at 6:30, featuring Hurston biographer Valerie Boyd. Each Food and Folklore event will feature a special prix fixe menu, and a conversation with the writer. The price will be $45/person. Reservations are required so definitely call to make them if you want to attend. I don’t think I’m going to make it this month, but I hope to check it out soon and let you know what I think.