Pho from Pho 14

Pho from Pho 14

mmmm, I love pho (and yes, it’s pronounced fuh – think about how many restaurants are called Pho King and you’ll get the inside joke). It’s a perfect antidote to the cold day, congested chest, the Vietnamese version of chicken noodle soup (and better, in my opinion). So I considered it a personally travesty that until last week, I had never been to the pho restaurant in Columbia Heights, Pho 14, especially considering it opened back in April.

I tried going a few weeks ago on a Wednesday around 8, and was surprised to see the line was out the door. Ended up at Pete’s Apizza and all was right. But when I saw they were open for lunch, and I had a Friday off on a cold day, off to get pho I went. Now, while I am very fond of pho, I’m no pho expert. However, a half-Vietnamese friend of mine (who shares my love of Four Sisters) likes Pho 14 and says he drops in often. So I liked their pho, it’s all in the broth as everyone says, and I loved the complexity of theirs (I also added a good amount of siracha sauce and some hoisin as well).

Bahn mi

Bahn mi

We also ordered a banh mi heo nuong platter and barely touched it, not because it was bad but because you forget how filling a big bowl of pho is. So, the next day I had my banh mi with grilled pork, and it was wonderful, a little spicy, nice and crunchy from the vegetables, and a lovely tang from the pork.

And of course, one of the best parts about pho restaurants is the price. You pay less than $10 for a huge bowl of pho, $2 for a pot of tea. Pho 14 is a great first date spot as well. And, they do takeout. So if I’m not the only one left in the area that hadn’t been, you reader, you go too.