Sandwich from Taylor II

9th Street Italian from Taylor II

Pretty much every blogger in DC has posted about the new Taylor’s Gourmet in Mt. Vernon Square. Having never made it out to the H Street one (though I have a good friend who lives near by) after the Long View Gallery grand opening, I knew where I was headed. Taylor’s II. I had the 9th Street Italian and my companion had the Benjamin Franklin Parkway (chicken cutlet, marinara, provolone).

Yeah, this place lives up to the hype. The sandwiches were really good, the bread was fabulous. I was kind of surprised how spicy the Benjamin Franklin Parkway’s marinara sauce was, at least in the bites I had (and you’re talking to a girl with a HIGH tolerance for spice). However, it was good, real good. I just wish they were still a little closer to home, but they still do deliver for $2 extra in the U street area, so there’s that.