inspired-yoga

Insipired Yoga, closing

It is with a sad heart that I write this, as Inspired Yoga had become my yoga home in my 2+ years in the area, but Inspired Yoga announced today that it will be closing at the end of November. Owner Kyra, with Michael, will leave to travel in Vietnam, teaching yoga, and eventually relocate to LA to be closer with one of their favorite teachers, Saul David Raye.

After Inspired Yoga had moved to their current location at the Josephine Butler Center in September, they had to cut their schedule because of the location’s restrictions. While beautiful, the space isn’t quite a yoga studio, and I had hoped the location was temporary until they found something more suitable and permanent. They have existed in Adams Morgan, U street, and now Columbia Heights for 8 years. They have had over 6,000 students. It’s a sad day for yoga in DC, but I wish Kyra and Michael the best. Namaste.

And, now that it seems that I’m going to need to find a new studio, does anyone have any recommendations for the U street area? I’m looking for a practice that is challenging, yet relaxing and soothing, hotter yoga would be nice but not required. Teachers that really let you focus on your breath. Any recommendations?