Old take out place, to be optometrists

Old take out place, to be optometrists

Remember that old takeout place at 14th and S, Las Marias, that used to serve Salvadorean food (I think?)? Well it has been closed forever, I’m not sure I ever saw it open, dating back to before I lived in the ‘hood and used to visit U street in college for shows at the 9:30 and a half smoke at Ben’s. Well, the ugly purplish blue paint is gone, its beautiful brick has been restored. And according to building permits on the side of the building, it will become an optometrist’s office.

Not terribly exciting, I know. However, for those who wear glasses in the area (yours truly included) I think it will be nice to have an optometrist in the area, for those last minute glass emergencies, like when one of the nose rests on my glasses fell off or that time I dropped my glasses and they became all crooked and I couldn’t fix them myself. Not sure when it will open but there seems to be a lot of active construction on the building.