Mid City Caffe

Mid City Caffe

So, I’ve only been once, but I’m kind of in love with Mid City Caffe. A few months ago when I spotlighted Peregrine Espresso in Eastern Market, I hoped that one would come to U street. Ladies and gentlemen, I believe we have our 14th street/U street version of Peregrine with Mid City Caffe. The coffee: great, and cheap. The vibe: relaxed, 50s dinerish, but not quite that shiny (if you know what I mean). There’s even sidewalk seating. And yes, free WiFi. The food: pastries, bagels, yogurt. The service was friendly and prompt – no signs of inepitude since they had just opened.  Man, if they had a more in depth menu, with some egg dishes and maybe some sandwiches, this would be my place to hang out on the weekends.

So, yeah, I’m really in love. Check out more photos, including the menu, on my Flickr photostream.