US Air Guitar Championships

US Air Guitar Championships

On a lighter note, I had a totally awesome time at the National Air Guitar Championships. If you haven’t been to one of these events, you should really go the next time around. These guys (and a few girls) wore ridiculous outfits, had outlandish hair (and facial hair), crazy energy, a great sense of theatricality, and a lot of interesting props. These guys kind of knew what they were doing was weird, strange, and kind of a loser thing to do, but they owned it. The winner, William Ocean, from New York (who did a completely crazy rendition of a metal version of the Bee Gee’s “Staying Alive”) will be representing the US in the World Championships over in Finland later this week.

Let me give you a taste for this event. There was a guy from DC that went by the stage name “STD” (stood for Sanjar the Destroyer) and we got chants of “STD” all night. Fun? He came in second place. Then there was a mascot, for the air guitar championships – a bear. Why was there a bear as a mascot? Who knows. I do know the bear was crowdsurfing and nearly fell on my head and my companion got a face full of bear mascot crotch. There might have been some flashing of various body parts by the air guitarists but honestly, I couldn’t see, I’m not too tall. There were air foam fingers handed out in the sign of the horns gesture (as pictured). Yeah, it was ridiculous and awesome.

So apologies for no great photos, as I said, I’m not too tall and even though I’m a local blogger and got a press pass, I didn’t get a better place to stand in the crowd to get decent shots. I still had a great time.