D'brows on U street

D'brows on U street

There are a lot of salons catering towards hair styling, hair removal, nails, spa treatments, you name it on U street. We have Bang, Parlour, Epiphany, Saigon Nails, Shangri-La Day Spa, Mint, Threads…etc. Other than getting my hair cut, I don’t really go to salons. I don’t get my nails done, rather not have someone else doing hair removal for me… and always thought spa treatments were a bit out of my price range.

But I like D’brows. Have you been? They do hair removal, skin care, make-up consultations, and the like. They get high rankings on Yelp, are often recommended on Washington Post chats, and for good reason. Everyone there is friendly, pleasant, helpful, and knowledgeable. Their offerings are affordable, and in my experience, they do a great job. The facial I recently had was relaxing, the stylist gave me good tips about skincare, and I left feeling refreshed and renewed.

Plus, as many Yelp reviewers note, their location can’t be beat. At U street just beyond the corner of 12th street, you’re a few storefronts away from Ben’s. Oh, and you’re across the street from the metro.

Full blogger disclosure: D’brows send me an email with a tempting offer to come in for a gratis treatment, and I’ve used that experience with that treatment to help me write this post. I had mixed feelings about accepting the offer because of journalistic integrity I learned back in J-school classes in college, but hey, I’m a neighborhood blogger on a writer’s budget and it wouldn’t be unusual for me to cover their store if they hadn’t offered me something free. But I wanted to let you know, dear readers, of the full situation.

A regular feature in which I spotlight local businesses.