Dollar store, closed

Dollar store, closed

The Dollar Store on U street between 13th and 14th seems to have closed for business Monday. They were having a going out of business sale, but it looks like they were all done Monday. Thanks from the tip from reader Paul for the intel (you think I would have noticed since I pass by here at least once a day).

The owner is/was Steve Tekle; he also owns U Wine and Beer across the street – which shows no signs of closing, by the way. I ran into him the other day and it totally slipped my mind to ask him what was happening to the store. So I’m not sure if he’s closing it because of  bad sales but trying to open something new in the space, if he’s giving up the space, or what. I run into him semi-regularly, he’s one of the local business owners I’m friendly with, so I’ll be sure to ask him the next time around and get some information. That’s a great location so it would be interesting to see him do something else with the space.