Construction starting at 14th and Belmont

Construction starting at 14th and Belmont

I noticed there was some activity happening at the empty lot/abandoned building at 14th and Belmont. I didn’t see any work being done, but with the presence of a crane and a digger, there must be something happening. There is also a temporary no parking sign on both sides of Belmont through the end of the 1st of July. An old Columbia Heights News post from 2006 tells me the empty lot was meant to be condos with ground floor retail, but I wonder if that’s still the plan. Anyone know?

Incidently, that shopping center that used to be there was strangely awesome, with the wig shop, no?

UPDATE: It looks like the construction crew is working in the abandoned building, and I’m sorry to say they’re at least partially demolishing it as of 7:45 this morning. Pictures to follow tonight – I hope they’re not completely demolishing the building, it has really nice bones.