U Street Cafe

U Street Cafe

This morning I made my first stop at U Street Cafe to have breakfast before heading over to the farmers market. The prices are definitely a bit more expensive than Mocha Hut, and the look and atmosphere has changed. While I saw Mocha Hut as a funky, relaxed coffee shop, U Street Cafe has more of a corporate, sleek feel. Not that it’s bad, it just doesn’t have that neighborhood coffee shop like feel. At around 10 am it was pretty empty, while Mocha Hut was usually pretty crowded by that point. I don’t know if they offer free WiFi still, but they didn’t advertise it nor did I see any one on their computers. May I also say, the faces at the cafe were mostly of one color, while before I felt Mocha Hut was more representative of the U Street corridor, multiracial and vibrant.

Now, onto the food: we ordered some coffee and a sausage, egg, and cheese on a croissant and a strawberry waffle. The food came out pretty promptly and was good. It wasn’t spectacular but that’s not what I was expecting. The food was comparable to the food at Mocha Hut except it’s more expensive.

Strawberry Waffle

Strawberry Waffle

And on the menu, more diversity but also alcohol. U Street Cafe has what seems to be a full liquor license: they were offering beer, wine, and cocktails. I think that’s a nice other option to stop in there for a drink instead of a crowded bar on a week night.

Check out my Flickr photostream to see more photos, including the full menu offerings and prices.