The Manhattan, 14th and Florida

The Manhattan, 14th and Florida

Now that I’m living off of 14th street, I’ve been walking through different streets than I normally do. I couldn’t help but notice the fabulous looking building that the Meridian Charter School is housed in. The Manhattan, an art moderne structure, I learned with some quick Google searching, used to be a laundromat (what cool architecture for a laundromat!). It was built in 1935 and served as a laundromat through 1973, when it was abandoned. It remained empty and was nearly demolished, until the Meridian Charter School came along in 1987 to rehab the building and use it as their school.

I love the details and little touches of the water lilies above the window and the fact that the upper floor’s walls are actually small blocks of glass.