I think this deserves a NOM

I think this deserves a NOM

I’m in budget mode, I’m moving in a week, and between security deposits, paying movers, move in and out fees, transfer fees for utilities, and a bunch of fun, unexpected expenses, I’m feeling the crunch. I’ve been trying to think of decent, creative meals that I can make cheaply. Pizza is one of those things that came to me: you can buy frozen pizza dough for a few bucks, and then you can spend as much, or little, on toppings as you want.

After a trip to the farmers market (which I couldn’t say no to, even though I’m trying to save money) I came home with great looking asparagus and my favorite spring treat: spring onions (0r green garlic). So I use those as inspiration and come up with this U Street Girl original: roasted asparagus and spring onion pizza.

Budget: $10, serves 4 (2 slices each) – $2.50 a serving.

Recipe details after the jump.

A regular feature in which I cook cheap, gourmet dishes.

Ingredients:

  • Frozen pizza dough (about $2.50 – I bought Real New York pizza dough from the frozen section of Harris Teeter and highly recommend it, perfect thin, crisp crust)
  • 1-2 tbs olive oil (pantry)
  • .75 cup canned, crushed tomatoes ($2.50 for 35 0z, about $1 for serving)
  • a dash of salt (pantry)
  • a bit of pepper (pantry)
  • .5 onion (pantry)

    Asparagus and spring onions, roasted

    Asparagus and spring onions, roasted

  • 2 cloves garlic (pantry)
  • .5 pound of asparagus (about $2)
  • 2 spring onions/green garlic – you can substitute scallions (about $1)
  • 3 ounces mozzarella cheese, fresh (about $5 for 9 oz, about $1.67 for serving)
  • various fresh herbs (can omit) – thyme, basil, chives, rosemary (I got these from my fancy herb garden in my window sill, you could probably spend $1.50 for buying the amount I use at the grocery store)

Total: $9.67

Method:

  • Bring oven to 400 degrees. Get asparagus cut in bite size pieces and slice white parts of spring onions thin. Drizzle in olive oil and salt and pepper. Throw that in the oven and let cook for 10 or so minutes. They won’t be browned yet but they’re going to spend some more time in the oven, so they will by the time you eat them.
  • Meanwhile, chop onions and garlic. Heat oil in a small sauce pan. Add onions and garlic, let sweat for a few minutes, then add crushed tomatoes and some salt and pepper let cook 10 minutes or so, and puree if you’d like a smoother consistency for your sauce.

    Before heading to the oven

    Before heading to the oven

  • Up the oven temperature to 450. Now assemble the pizza: roll out the dough on a pan (rimless, with aluminum foil was my choice) and spread your sauce on, then sprinkle cheese (grate if desired), asparagus, spring onions, and fresh herbs if you want. You could also put the chopped greens of the spring onions on top as well.
  • Throw in the oven and cook for 15 to 20 minutes or until crust starts to brown.
  • Now: eat! Yum! This is fabulous. I really recommend you take some time to make it, and forget take out pizza or the frozen kind. This is where it’s at.