For various reasons, I’m looking for a new apartment in the U street area with my boyfriend. To leave the details intentionally vague, I believe we’re being discriminated against by a potential landlord. We make more than enough money to qualify for the lease, yet he is holding out for whatever reason.

DC has some of the most comprehensive fair housing laws in the country. A friend used to work for the National Fair Housing Alliance, and through talking to her I’ve learned a lot about fair housing. While federal laws state that you can’t be discriminated against based on “race, color, religion, sex, familial status, or national origin” as well as because of a disability, DC’s laws are much more comprehensive.

DC prohibits discrimination against “race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, personal appearance, sexual orientation, familial status, family responsibilities, disability, matriculation, political affiliation, source of income, or place of residence or business of any individual.” I could probably make a case against discrimination in my case with at least three of those protected classes.

But is it worth it? I don’t really want to fight this landlord, because why would I want a landlord that is either unfamiliar with these laws or is familiar with them and doesn’t adhere to them? Regardless, it rightfully makes me very mad. I’m still looking for a new, better place on U street.