Policy's downstairs bar

Policy's downstairs bar

I stopped by Policy last night for a drink before heading to St. Ex for some crazy dancing. My companion and I were only able to get to the first floor bar/restaurant area as the upstairs had a private party that we weren’t cool enough to be on the list for. I understand that’s where the more loungey area is, and as we overheard, where all of the “hot girls” are. U street girl and her companion were a little offended by this, but we let it roll off our shoulders. The vibe, of at least the downstairs of the place, is a little more mature, I’m in my early 20s and I definitely felt a little young. The crowd tended towards the older 20s/early 30s, downstairs. The service at the bar was rather quick though, as you can tell in this photo, the bar was pretty crowded.

Libertinis at Policy

Libertinis at Policy

We ordered Libertinis, which had pineapple juice, champagne, and other ingredients that were forgotten after a night of dancing at St. Ex, clearly there was something red in there by looking at that photo. Can’t remember what, but they were good. The specialty cocktails ran $10, which was pretty reasonable in my mind. Also, I realized I went to college and knew the event coordinator, Kevin Murray, at Policy. Does that  make me feel cool? I don’t know, but I figured out it wouldn’t help me with getting to the second floor lounge by saying I had a few English classes and went to a few parties with Kevin, and could describe what he looked like. So no thoughts on upstairs, sadly.