Dark 'n stormy, courtesy of Matt Feifarek, Flickr

Dark 'n' stormy, courtesy of Matt Feifarek, Flickr

My favorite summer drink? No, scratch that, my favorite drink? Dark ‘n’ Stormy. Dark rum, ginger beer, some lime, and it’s heaven. The best rendition I’ve tasted? Over at Creme on U street. Also, their shrimp and grits are divine. I barely ever order anything BUT their shrimp and grits because they are so good it just doesn’t make sense to eat anything else. And have you tried their coconut cake? Amazing, and I don’t even like coconut that much.

I really like the service, the atmosphere, and obviously the food. I find it a great place to get dinner on a weeknight and also to stop in get a drink later at night and be able to hear your companions talk. And their brunch, when you can actually get a seat (yes there is usually a crowd outside before they open) is fabulous as well.

And of course, I like that it’s a locally-owned restaurant by two chefs who are there to cook. It’s one of my go-to places to get dinner in the ‘hood. So stop on by if you haven’t made it there yet.

A regular feature in which I spotlight local businesses.