I, like everyone else on Facebook, have been tagged a few notes called “25 random things about me.”  While I find it cute, I wasn’t really compelled to write my own list. However, this morning when I read one of my favorite food blogs, Mighty Appetite, I saw that the blogger Kim O’Donnel had taken that concept and twisted it, she’s written a list of 25 random kitchen things about her. Now that’s my kind of list.  I’ve expanded it beyond the kitchen to be about food, so I could write about my food experiences outside of the kitchen as well. I cut it to 10 because I’m lazy.

  • I’m currently having a love affair with olives. I think I’ve been eating at least 10 a day. I’ve been going through jars at a rapid place and am always ordering them when I eat out. I love restaurants like Jaleo that give you olives to eat in lieu of bread.
  • At the beginning of the spring I buy fresh herbs with all intentions of tending to them and having fresh herbs to cook with through the end of the year. They wilt by the end of the summer.
  • Growing up, my favorite dish was an Italian casserole my dad made: penne, tomato, Italian sausage, and mozzarella cheese. He makes it for me every time I’m home and it makes me oh so happy. However, I’ve never made it for myself.
  • My family has a vegetable garden as well as a few fruit trees and now I miss not having my own fresh eggplants, tomatoes, zucchinis, lettuce, strawberries, blueberries, and pears every summer. The U street farmer’s market is an OK substitute.
  • I’m a sucker for a good, full bodied red wine. Recent favorites have been a Tempranillo from Spain, a Malbec from Argentina, and a Pinotage from South Africa.
  • The Food Network, an old roommate, and my competitive nature forced me to start cooking seriously. I just had to one-up her great creations in the kitchen and match her aspirations to go to cooking school. She took a few classes at Le Academie de Cuisine, I’m still working on it.
  • I’ve had several dining partners over the past few years, and it’s great to have a foodie friend who will go out and try whatever restaurant you’re into. It’s a bummer though, when you’re both broke and can’t afford to go out to the really nice places you want to eat at. That’s where cooking together comes in.
  • I don’t know how to use a charcoal grill. I wish I did, but my father is territorial over the grill or something (must be a man thing) and never taught me how. I think this makes me deficient in someway.
  • I have foodie crushes on Jose Andres, Eric Ripert, Anthony Bourdain, Mark Bittman, and Alton Brown. I recently had a dream where Anthony Bourdain was my boyfriend and I woke up happy. Real life boyfriend did not seem to mind this because he understands my foodie crushes.
  • I used to hate onions, mushrooms, and fish. Now, I’ve given them all a chance and I love onions and most fish. However, I still hate mushrooms.