Instead of writing individual posts about a few incidents that have happened in the U street area, I’ve decided to do a quick round-up of the crime in the area:

  • DCist reports on a rash of hold-ups on U street-area Chinese take out restaurants. I can’t say I’ve ever actually eaten at any of these places, but I hope that the businesses are able to recover and no other restaurants are hit.
  • MPD’s 3rd district listserv reports on a police-related shooting on 16th and Kalorama, right near Meridian Hill/Malcolm X Park. A police officer shot a suspect after he assaulted the police officer. The suspect is at a hospital recovering from a single gunshot wound and the police officer is in the hospital recovering from a head wound sustained during the incident. The Washington City Paper is reporting that the suspect was mentally ill. This is following the police-related shooting death of a mentally-ill man yesterday near H Street NE.

Also kids, it’s slippery out there, be careful where you’re going. I almost wiped out a few times on the short walk to/from the metro, and I’m from up North where we’re used to this kind of weather 6 months a year. Or something.