MCCXXIII, courtesy of NCinDC (Flickr)

MCCXXIII, courtesy of NCinDC (Flickr)

OK, I’m the first one to admit that MCCXXIII was pretty lame, but as a college student it was pretty freaking cool, at least before I turned 21 and could go to a real bar (then it was the Georgetown bar scene, which is a whole other thing). It was in that repertoire of Home (closed), Tequila Beach (closed), Yuca (closed), Lulu’s (closed), Pearl (closed), Apex (gay club still going strong), that were very popular in the under-21 college crowd when I was in college 5 years ag0, or so. Nearly all of them, now including MCCXXIII, have closed.

I had some memories in those places (I was going to type “good” or “fun” memories but I realize that I really had neither) and even though I didn’t step a foot in any of them after I turned 21, it’s still a bit sad to see them go. They were the only places under-21, fake ID-less college student me could go.

I mean, remember Spank, the top level of MCCXIII that was supposed to be super-exclusive? I remember feeling so cool sophomore year when me and my friends managed to score the right wristband to get up there one Thursday night. I’m pretty sure I wore it the next day to classes to show off my coolness. Yes, I’m glad those days are over, but let’s take a moment of silence for those not-so-great clubs of our college years that are no longer with us.