Obama sworn in, courtesy of Irina Souiki (Flickr)

Obama sworn in, courtesy of Irina Souiki (Flickr)

Well, after a long day at work, I’m able to finally reflect on the inauguration of President Barack Obama. I’d went to Bush’s second inauguration in 2005, mostly because a friend got tickets, and even though I’d voted for Kerry, it was an historical event that I was able to go to because I lived in DC.

This time, it was obviously completely different: the exultation and joy from the crowd, the exuberance was palpable. It was perhaps the happiest day of my life… I remember thinking the same thing after the Red Sox won the World Series in 2004 and I flew back to Boston to go to the parade, soak up the atmosphere, and reconnect with friends. But, this was, obviously so much bigger, on such a greater scale.

There were of course, a lot of problems in the organization of the event. A lot of misinformation and confusion, but I don’t feel the need to discuss this, as a lot of other outlets have done a very good job covering the problems.

I am just so glad that, as a District resident, I was able to witness this moment in history, and I will remember it the rest of my life.