Last night, near the Columbia Heights recreation center (at the 140o block of Girard), a teenager was shot and wounded in a hail of bullets. At about 7:30 pm, the teen and other people outside of the recreation center were approached by gunmen, at least one in a ski mask. The gunmen then opened fire with no warning.

In the Washington Post article, Jim Graham is quoted as saying the shooting is most likely gang related, though doesn’t seem to give any reason why.

That block of Columbia Heights has seen a lot of violence, in the summer of 2007 it seemed like there was a shooting there every week. I had a friend who lived on the block and often he had to tell the police that he lived there, and could he please get to his apartment, because it was so often blocked off by police tape.

Isn’t it great though, that the Washington Post is writing about this incident, where no one was killed and the most severe injury (from what I can tell) was a thumb wounded by a bullet, and neglects to do barely any reporting on the fatal shooting over the weekend (I’m sorry, that article doesn’t count). I don’t understand how local news works sometimes, why does the Post see this incident as more worthy to cover? I can cobble my news together from blogs, listservs, and local news outlets and sometimes get a good sense of what’s happening in my neighborhood and surrounding ones. Sometimes I can’t. I really wish there were better coverage of my neighborhood. If there’s some news source that does it well, I’m all ears.

UPDATE: I’m calling out the Washington Post even more on this. They did some crappy reporting on that article. First of all, they didn’t interview Jim Graham, they just took a statement from a press release he issued and made it seem as though they had interviewed him. They did the same thing with a quotation from MPD officer Edward Delgado, taking a statement he had posted on the 3rd district listserv and representing as if they had spoken to him directly. Additionally, they seem to have taken parts of WJLA’s story on the shooting Friday night and represented as if they had interviewed these people on their own. They both interview a witness named Siobhan Gavagan and use the same quotation about her hiding under a car during the shooting. Shame on you, Washington Post reporters, for your sloppy, and in some parts, dishonest reporting.