The Heights Life has more information about the homicide in Columbia Heights via an email from Council member Jim Graham:

According to MPD, just minutes ago, a 25 year old African American was shot dead in what is reportedly a drive by shooting on the 1300 block of Columbia Rd NW. A silver SUV was seen leaving the site. Police indicate that this as a targeted shooting.

There were many shots fired at 1310 Columbia Rd.

Another man with gun shot wounds apparently took himself to MedStar. It is not clear now whether there is any connection between the two shootings.

I’d like some more reporting on this story from local news outlets. I still can find nearly no information on this, let alone on the stabbing that was on my block a week ago. I’m just a lowly blogger with some experience in journalism, but I’m doing my best to stay informed.

UPDATE to the update: DCist is reporting that the homicide victim isn’t 25, but instead 17-year-old Paul Jones. Not sure who to believe, DCist via WJLA or Jim Graham.