1905, courtesy of Jenn Larsen

1905, courtesy of Jenn Larsen

I read about 1905 opening back in September, and had it in the back of my mind that I’d like to visit it at some point. It doesn’t seem to have a lot of buzz behind it, like other similar restaurants that have opened in the area. Last night, when I wanted an uncrowded place to sit down and get a drink and maybe dessert, I had to rack my mind to think of a place that I could get a seat at 10 pm on a Friday night, I thought I’d give 1905 a try.

The decor at 1905 is comfortable, dim lighting, interesting lamps, a lot of dark wood, mirrors on the wall. The space is small, and might feel a little cramped, but I like the atmosphere a lot. And lo and behold, there were open tables on a Friday night.

While I didn’t dine there, and have read some very mixed things about the food, the drinks are good. I had a Wonderful Life – a spiced cider with rum and Grand Marnier, and also a Van Gogh – an absinthe and fruit cocktail, which was amazing. I don’t even like anise flavored things, but the mix of the sweetness of the fruit and the anise of the absinthe just worked together. It was great.

The desserts were a mixed bag. The beignets were great, fluffy, and still warm – most likely right out of the fryer. The chocolate pannacotta was OK – and then became weird as I realized there was salt on one side of it.

It’s hard to tell why this place hasn’t gotten more buzz, perhaps the food really is not that good. It is a little out of the way, but that hasn’t deterred people before. I plan on stopping in for dinner soon, to form a better opinion of the restaurant. But as a bar, it’s a great place to stop in and get a drink and be able to hear yourself think, even on a Friday night.