Galileo's old location, courtesy of erin_johnson (Flickr)

Galileo's old location, courtesy of erin_johnson (Flickr)

Tom Sietsema gives us news that Galileo returns from the dead, and will occupy Butterfield 9’s space on 14th street near the White House.

Galileo was actually one of the first restaurants I ate at in DC, while I was visiting colleges in DC I stayed around the corner from the restaurant’s original location in the West End/Foggy Bottom area on 21st and L. A misguided front desk clerk at the hotel told my dad and me that it would be a good place for a quick dinner before we headed to a (now-defunct) Crossfire taping. She failed to mention it was also one of the most snooty, expensive restaurants in the area. Thanks lady. Sure, the food was great, but it wasn’t exactly what we were expecting.

In 2006, Galileo closed as the building it was located in underwent a complete renovation (oh I know, I used to live right next to the building and the construction woke me up every morning) and was set to eventually re-open when the renovation was completed. However, now it is set to open in April or May of 2009 in the shuttered Butterfield 9 space. Should be interesting (and hopefully the snooty, stuck-up service notorious at the old Galileo will disappear).