Beef Tibs, courtesy of Andrea Chiu (Flickr)

Beef Tibs, courtesy of Andrea Chiu (Flickr)

DCist does a review of local Ethiopian restaurant’s tibs dishes, and sort of declares the winners Madjet on U street and Queen Makeda on 9th off of U. Now, I’m more of a kitfo and veggie platter girl myself, but I like tibs, a stir fried or grilled lamb or beef dish, from time to time. I would put however, Etete, my favorite Ethiopian restaurant at the top spot, but DCist didn’t include it in their review (too bad).

Now, I can’t say I’ve ever eaten at either Madjet or Queen Makeda, I tend to stick to Etete for eat in and Dukem for take out. And with all of the choices for Ethiopian in my ‘hood, it’s good to have a few favorites with dishes you know you like, instead of experimenting in what can be some mediocre food, as the DCist reviewer finds out.

Now, what I’d really like to do is cook some Ethiopian food myself, as Dukem’s market sells berbere spices and injera bread. Another post, I guess.