Vinoteca, off of U Street

Vinoteca, at 11th and U

After seeing 14th and You’s post on brunch at Vinoteca a few weeks ago, I thought to myself, why don’t I go there more often? It’s a block away from my place, the times I’ve been there the food has been good, the wine choices plentiful, and the service friendly. I guess for me, and for others in the neighborhood, it doesn’t really come up as a “go to” place when you’re thinking of a place to go to dinner. It really should be.

Vinoteca has been open a little more than a year, and is a nice alternate to the always-packed, though wonderful, Cork. Their winter menu has some nice options, such as the great Lobster and Grits I had the last time I was there, along with classics like Duck Confit and things you can’t usually find, like Bison Top Sirloin. Their brunch sounds great though I haven’t had the chance to make it over yet (a late morning Pilates class gets in the way of Sunday brunch).

I also like that they offer events like wine classes, for about $35, where you can explore different grape varietals with a knowledgeable instructor. (It looks like, however, they’ve temporarily suspended the classes, usually held every Tuesday, hopefully they’ll start up again.)

So, I’m going to make visits to Vinoteca more regular, because I really like what they’re doing.

A regular feature in which I spotlight local businesses.