As a break from the sad news I’ve been reporting about local violence, here’s an interesting post from Mighty Appetite about a geekery of scallops I bet you didn’t know existed. I love scallops, seared, with some great sauce; if I go to a restaurant and seared scallops are on the menu, 9 times out of 10 that’s what I’m ordering. I have, however, never cooked them, mostly because they’re a little too pricey for my tight budget.

Searing scallops, courtesy of Justin Marx (Flickr)

Searing scallops, courtesy of Justin Marx (Flickr)

Guest poster Julia Beizer gives us way more info on scallops, how to buy them, the different kinds, then I ever would have known. A lot of her info comes from BlackSalt fishmonger Scott Weinstein and if you’re a food geek like me, it’s worth the read.

Finally, three lovely-sounding recipes featuring scallops are prepared. The curry-dusted scallops with pea puree sound especially alluring. Man, next time I’m at the grocery store I might have to break my budget for that one indulgent splurge of scallops and try cooking them myself.