Yes! in Adams Morgan, courtesy of M.V. Jantzen (Flickr)

Yes! in Cleveland Park, courtesy of M.V. Jantzen (Flickr)

I was so excited for Yes! Organic Market on 14th and V to open. It was supposed to open in Spring 2008, and it didn’t end up opening until November, a few weeks ago. I have no idea what took so long.

I’m sorry, it sucks.

First of all, the “market” descriptor is accurate: it’s no grocery store. It’s TINY. And nearly a third of the store is dedicated to various supplements and lotions. I tried to do my full grocery shopping there last week, with ingredients like sirloin steak, lemons, scallions, and various other basic things that people who actually cook would buy. I had trouble finding many items, and when I did, I wasn’t exactly excited about the quality. Or the price. While some things were on special at a reasonable price (no good deal though) the prices were high. Too high for what they’re offering.

I guess I was naive to think that Yes! Organic Market would be my solution to no “real” grocery stores in my immediate area (perhaps I should have done more research). Sure, I usually walk to Harris Teeter in Adams Morgan or Whole Paycheck in Logan Circle, but those are both 15 minute walks from my place. Not exactly ideal when you’re a car-free city dweller and have to haul groceries yourself, but I manage. The idea of walking maybe 5 minutes to a “real” grocery store where I could do all of my shopping was so exciting. Too bad Yes! Organic Market doesn’t fit that description.

It’s a place I might stop by to pick up an odd ingredient, because it’s so close to where I live. It also has some pretty neat speciality items, Reed’s Ginger ice cream anyone? But I won’t (and can’t) do all of my grocery shopping there. It’s pretty much on par at Best in DC (a bit of a misnomer, if I may say so), on 15th and U, which is a good place to drop in to get the odd ingredient, but can get pricey. I’d kind of rather shop there because at least I’m supporting a local family instead of a chain.